Safari company & publisher
Africa Geographic
Wildlife . People . Travel
Shenton Safaris

Information provided by Rhino Conservation Awards

Nominations have officially opened for the annual Rhino Conservation Awards that celebrate our rhino conservation heroes. 


A relentless war is currently being waged between organised crime syndicates intent on eradicating Africa’s remaining rhino, and those passionate conservationists who seek to protect them. At last year’s awards ceremony, moving accounts of the incredible physical and emotional toil associated with protecting these majestic animals were shared.

The awards have been held annually since 2012 and serve to recognise significant role players involved in rhino conservation. Nominations are invited from all African rhino range states, in the following categories; Best Field Ranger, Best Conservation Practitioner, Best Political and Judicial Support, Best Science Research and Technology, and Best Awareness, Education or Funding. The additional Special Youth category honours youngsters that have taken action against poaching.


Founders Dr Larry Hansen, and Miss Xiaoyang Yu, with sponsors Carl Zeiss Sports Optics, in collaboration with the South African Department of Environmental Affairs and the Game Rangers Association of Africa, will present the Rhino Conservation Awards in 2016. His Serene Highness Prince Albert II of Monaco serves as the Patron of the awards.

“The key to successfully conserving the rhino will lie in the dedication of all those involved in the fight against rhino poaching in Africa,” believes Dr Hansen. “These people often do selfless and unrecognised work to save our natural heritage that is in danger of being lost forever. Sometimes this happens in the face of physical danger, political opposition and severe financial constraints. These factors make the contribution of each role player even more worthy of recognition”.

Nominations can be made by and/or on behalf of any person or organisation that has played a part in rhino conservation, on any scale. Nomination forms can be requested from Janyce Dalziel at, or downloaded here.

Nominations will close on 1 June 2016. An executive committee will review all nominations and draw up a short-list. A panel of adjudicators will then identify the winners and runners up in each category.

News Desk

A collection of current affairs articles and press releases from third party sources.